Food · Lifestyle

#MakeAtHome: Strawberry Compote

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, as we learnt in school, at home and almost everywhere. I’ve grown up eating a lavish English breakfast – eggs on toast, grilled tomatoes, bacon, buttered toast, the works, on a daily basis with some variation of course. There would be fruit and cereal some days, and poha (puffed rice) on others. I owe it to my grandparents who are from the era of the British Raj in  India, their habits are such, till date.

When I got married last year into a family of very educated Punjabis, I thought this new household would have similar eating habits like my maiden family. Little did I know, you cannot take Punjabi food habits out of Punjabis (and I’m not complaining, I’ve eaten some really delicious food in the past one year). The only thing that took time for me to adjust with was the breakfast menu, they had paranthas (flat Indian bread fried with ghee) almost everyday. I tried to, but I started gaining a lot of weight and I also couldn’t bring myself to eat paranthas for brekkie.

I whipped up a few easy-peesy breakfast recipes. Here’s one for strawberry compote to go with my muesli and greek yogurt. I made a batch yesterday, it will last me a week to 10 days. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

100gm chopped strawberries

3 tbsp fresh orange juice

2-3 tsp brown sugar

1 vanilla pod  or 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder (I used cinnamon powder)

200ml water

Method:

  1. Put the chopped strawberries and sugar in a saucepan on medium heat.
  2. Add the vanilla or cinnamon powder and water to the pan. Bring it to a boil.
  3. Crush the strawberries with a wooden spatula. For a smooth compote, whip it up once its on room temperature. I like it chunky, so I just let the wooden spatula work its magic.
  4. Store in a glass jar and eat it with your muesli & yogurt or as a bread spread.

Do try it at home and let me know how do you like it. I’ll be sharing more quick and interesting breakfast options soon xx

 

 

One thought on “#MakeAtHome: Strawberry Compote

Leave a Reply

